tick-or-treat

smell my feet, give me something good to eat

you can find me at: @K_AnnM | Insta | LinkedIn

It’s the most wonderful time of the year. No, it’s not Christmas, but it is the beginning of the holiday season…well, at least in my mind. I love Halloween. Halloween has always been one of my favorite holidays. I have fond memories of Halloween, October and harvest. My childhood was filled with dressing up in costumes, decorating, craving pumpkins and drinking hot apple cider. I know, I am a little over the top.

Today, I wanted to talk to you about trick-or-treating. What a crazy weird idea, eh? Trick-or-Treating is now a billion dollar industry. As an American custom, trick-or-treating wasn’t always part of Halloween. A little over 60 years ago, many Americans had never even seen a trick-or-treater. It is something everyone, both parents and kids alike, look forward to every year. It doesn’t matter if you are in it for the costumes, the party, seeing everyone dressed up or just the candy–everyone is in it for something. 

When I was a kid (and yes, still now) I dressed up. I had the most elaborate costumes: Dorthy, Pippi Longstockings, a Christmas tree, a graduate, a princess, Raggedy Ann. Often times my mom would make them, but my favorite part of my costumes was a bag I got to carry around with me that looked like a witch. You guessed it, it was my trick-or-treating bag. For years I carried this around with me and come to think of it, next time I am at home, I’m snagging that from my parents for next year. No, I don’t go trick-or-treating now, but I still dress up. To me, dressing up is half the fun of Halloween. It’s the one time of the year it’s societally and socially acceptable to be someone you aren’t. For one night, you get to go out and embrace that.

I was curious to know more about the history on trick-or-treating and this is what I found. Take a look at this article. It’s an interesting read. We’ve come a long way. This holiday has boomed into something uncontrollable, but I don’t see anyone complaining about it.

Go out, dress up and live in the moment. Enjoy Halloween. Be safe and be smart. Happy Halloween!

Leave a comment